• in front of Natalia's work "Waving Flag" honoring John,
  • 2018,
  • photo credit Artspace Staff
  • in front of Tyler's work "Gold" honoring Titus,
  • 2018,
  • photo credit Artspace Staff
  • installation view of Paying Homage: Soil & Site,
  • 2018,
  • photo credit by Jessica Smolinski
  • installation view of Paying Homage: Soil & Site,
  • 2018,
  • photo credit by Jessica Smolinski

In 2018, 19 students joined forces with activist potter/spoken word poet Roberto Lugo to pay homage to unsung heroes of our community and tell the untold stories about their contributions. Homage took the form of a giant ceramic tile mural that will be mounted permanently at Common Ground School after its Artspace debut, made in Lugo’s signature style, making reference to the ornate Della Robbia ceramic technique of the Italian Renaissance.

View the exhibition, here.

Roberto Lugo: Soil and Site (full version) from Artspace New Haven on Vimeo.

In partnership with:

Lead Artist

  • Roberto Lugo

    Voted Ceramic Artist of the Year in 2017, Roberto Lugo is a USA Artist Fellow and the 2015 recipient of the NCECA Emerging Artist of the Year award. He is Assistant Professor at Temple University/Tyler School of Art, holds a BFA from the Kansas City Arts Institute, an MFA from Penn State and serves as a Trustee of the Haystack Mountain School of Crafts as well as the National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts. He is represented by the Wexler Gallery in Philadelphia. His work has been exhibited at the Center for Craft and Creativity in Asheville, NC, Baltimore Clay Works, Cranbrook Academy, and is in the permanent collection of the Philadelphia Museum of Art and the High Museum in Atlanta.

Participating Artists

Daniela Alejandra Arandi López
Patricio Salvador Bacón Guaray
Kiyomi Leslie Bowen
Janyel Kyany Campbell
Naamy Dayana Castillo
Angela Victoria Fernandez-Ayala
Gabriela Gonzalez
Aliya Anna Hafiz
Sofiya Alexandra Hafiz
Andres Sebastian Hernandez
Adara Meher Huq
Aime Mulungula
Natalia Maria Padilla Castellanos
Kobe Randolf
Tyler Brian Reid
Keely Mumm Russel-Thornton
Tiffany Lynn Sewell
Jaida Stancil
Raven Von Kohler
Jordan Isaiah Walker
India Wolterstorff